2019 Principal’s Research Chair Announcement

UBCO Announces Five New Principal’s Research Chairholders

UBC Okanagan is pleased to announce the first five appointments under its Principal’s Research Chairs (PRC) Program.

The Principal’s Research Chairs (PRC) program provides internal funding support for top-tier researchers engaged in outstanding research or creative scholarship.

Supported by the UBC Okanagan Excellence Fund, the goals of the PRC program are to:

  • Enable recruitment of outstanding new faculty
  • Retain top researchers
  • Promote research intensification
  • Generate international recognition of research achievements

Last November, Deans submitted applications for PRC allocations. Submissions were reviewed jointly by the Provost and Vice-President Academic and the Vice-Principal, Research and Innovation and the following appointments were approved by the Deputy Vice-Chancellor and Principal.

2020 Principal’s Research Chairholders

Tier Chair Title Recipient Faculty Effective
Tier 1 Indigenous Reconciliation in Engineering Assoc. Prof. Ian Foulds School of Engineering April 2020
Tier 1 Palliative and End-of-Life Care Prof. Barbara Pesut Faculty of Health and Social Development April 2020
Tier 2 Blockchain-Empowered Digital Technology Asst. Prof. Chen Feng School of Engineering April 2020
Tier 2 Digital Arts and Humanities Assoc. Prof. Karis Shearer Faculty of Creative and Critical Studies April 2020
Tier 2 Manufacturing Engineering Asst. Prof. Ahmad Al-Dabbagh School of Engineering Sept 2020


The requirements of the PRC program are aligned with the Tier 1 and Tier 2 Canada Research Chair (CRC) program criteria and recipients of the award are appointed to a renewable five-year term.

Update on Canada Research Chair (CRC) Allocations

On June 14, 2019, the Honourable Kirsty Duncan, Minister of Science and Sport, announced an investment of over $275 million for 346 new and renewed Canada Research Chairs at 52 institutions across Canada for research excellence.

UBC currently holds 205 Canada Research Chairs. UBCO was recently allocated four new Canada Research Chair (CRC) positions, bringing the UBCO CRC cohort to nine.

As with the Principal’s Research Chairholders, CRCs will demonstrate excellence in research and scholarship, be beneficiaries of Federal Tri-Agency (NSERCCIHR, SSHRC) and other external research funding support, and make substantive contributions to research leadership and the development of graduate and postdoctoral training programs within their respective disciplines.

These new allocations and appointments are evidence of the importance and quality of research on our campus. We anticipate that research findings and creative scholarly activities of all of our outstanding researchers will translate into tangible benefits to our region and global society.


Should you have questions regarding the Principal’s Research Chairs (PRC) or Canada Research Chairs (CRC) programs, please contact Christine Humphries.


Best regards,

Ananya Mukherjee Reed
Provost and Vice-President Academic, UBC Okanagan

Philip Barker
Vice-Principal and Associate Vice-President, Research and Innovation, UBC Okanagan