Contact

Office of the Vice-Principal, Research and Innovation (VPRI)
Okanagan Campus
FIP 336 – 3247 University Way
Kelowna, BC Canada V1V 1V7
vpresearch.ok@ubc.ca

Office Hours
Monday to Friday
8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.

*Please note that our team is currently working remotely. The best way to reach us is via email.

 


VPRI TEAM

Dr. Philip Barker
Vice-Principal & Associate Vice-President, Research and Innovation
philip.barker@ubc.ca

Daniela Hetrea
Executive Assistant to the Vice-Principal, Research and Innovation
250-807-9042 | FIP323
daniela.hetrea@ubc.ca

 

Dr. Paul van Donkelaar
Associate Vice-Principal, Research
250-807-8858 | FIP 320
paul.vandonkelaar@ubc.ca

office of the vice-principal, research and innovation


Amber Hanson
Communications Manager
250-807-8035 | FIP 326
amber.hanson@ubc.ca

 

Christine Humphries (on leave)
Manager, Strategic Initiatives & Operations
250-807-8154 | FIP 325
christine.humphries@ubc.ca

 

Danielle Lamb
Major Awards Officer (Eminence Program)
250-807-9658 | FIP 317
danielle.lamb@ubc.ca

 

Gerald Levac
Finance Manager
250-807-9034 | FIP 309
gerald.levac@ubc.ca

Jenny Matechuk
Events & Engagement Officer
250-807-8142 | FIP 327
jenny.matechuk@ubc.ca

 

Andrea Osachoff
Administrative Coordinator
250-807-8602 | FIP 336
andrea.osachoff@ubc.ca

 

Pierre Rondier
Institutional Programs Officer (CFI)
250-807-9438 | FIP 304
pierre.rondier@ubc.ca

 

Angela Sali (on leave)
Administrative Coordinator
250-807-8195 | FIP 336
angela.sali@ubc.ca

University-Industry Liaison Office (UILO)


Derek Gratz
Associate Director
250-807-9853 | FIP 324
derek.gratz@ubc.ca

Barbara Stein-Zarchikoff
Administrative & Special Projects Coordinator
250-807-8195 | FIP 323
barbara.steinzarchikoff@ubc.ca

Partnership Development


Robert Grace
Business Development Officer
Cell 604-318-6808 | Vancouver
robert.grace@ubc.ca

 

Janice Larson
Interior University Research Coalition (IURC)
250-807-8025 | FIP 326
janice.larson@ubc.ca

Jennifer Tedman-Jones
Director, Business Development (Mitacs)
BC Interior and the Yukon
Cell 250-870-1514 | FIP 304
jtedman@mitacs.ca


Candice Loring

Specialist, Business Development Indigenous Community Engagement(Mitacs)
Cell 778-392-8581 | FIP 304
cloring@mitacs.ca

Entrepreneurship@UBCO


Camille Saltman
Managing Director
Cell 250-300-5254
Innovation UBC Hub | #203-460 Doyle Ave
camille.saltman@ubc.ca

Sarah Sutherland
Program Facilitator
Cell 250-869-9718
Innovation UBC Hub | #203-460 Doyle Ave
s.sutherland@ubc.ca

Office of Research Services (ORS)


Kristen Korberg
Associate Director
250-807-8832 | FIP 319
kristen.korberg@ubc.ca

 

Lisa Shearer
Associate Manager
Behavioural Research Ethics
250-807-8289 | FIP 317
lisa.shearer@ubc.ca

 

Rachel Howard
Awards Coordinator
250-807-9412 | FIP 317
rachel.howard@ubc.ca

 

Danielle Lamb
Major Awards Officer
250-807-9658 | FIP 327
danielle.lamb@ubc.ca

Sandra Fox
Indigenous Community Liaison
250-807-8187 | FIP 318
sandra.young@ubc.ca

 

Denise Maines (on leave)
Research Support Specialist
Natural Sciences and Engineering
250-807-8510 | FIP 315
denise.maines@ubc.ca

 

Brianna Wells
Research Support Specialist
Social Sciences and Humanities
250-807-8520 | FIP 318
brianna.wells@ubc.ca

survive and thrive applied research (star) initiative


Dr. Keith Culver
Director
250-807-9875 | EME 4153
keith.culver@ubc.ca

 

Kent Dehnel (on leave)
Operations Facilitator
Cell 250-354-3657 | EME 1203
kent.dehnel@ubc.ca

 

Patrick Gall
Research Network Facilitator
Cell 403-478-6066 | EME 2131
patrick.gall@ubc.ca

 

Ryan Mandau
Laboratory Technician V
Cell 250-575-1095 | EME 2131
ryan.mandau@ubc.ca

VPRI Directory

Role:
Unit/Departments:
Search Keyword:

Phil Barker | Vice-Principal, Research | Biochemistry and Molecular Biology, Research & Innovation Office (VPRI) | philip.barker@ubc.ca | 250.807.9582 | FIP 322

Graduate student supervisor


Research Interests: Neurodegenerative disease, signal transduction, neurotrophin biology, cell biology, fly and mouse genetics.
Jacquetta Benard | Administrative Assistant | Institute for Healthy Living and Chronic Disease Prevention (IHLCDP ) | jacquetta.benard@ubc.ca | 250.807.8072 | ART 223
Joan Bottorff | Professor | Institute for Healthy Living and Chronic Disease Prevention (IHLCDP), School of Nursing | joan.bottorff@ubc.ca | 250.807.8627 | Arts 223A
Mark Button | Technician V (FiLTER ICP-MS Technician) | Fipke Laboratory for Trace Element Research (FiLTER) | mark.button@ubc.ca | 250.807.8645 | FIP 147
Jolene Campbell | Administrative Assistant | Materials and Manufacturing Research Institute (MMRI) | jolene.campbell@ubc.ca | 250.807.8085 | EME 2131
Joanne Carey | Research Administrator | Institute for Community Engaged Research (ICER) | joanne.carey@ubc.ca | 250.807.9667 | Arts 223A
Jon Corbett (On Leave) | Associate Professor | Geography, Institute for Community Engaged Research (ICER) | jon.corbett@ubc.ca | 250.807.9348 | ART 368B
Research Interests: Geography; ethnobiology; cartography; exploration, facilitation and promotion of community and ecosystem-based models of land and resource use in communities in Australia, Indonesia, the Philippines and British Columbia, Canada
Courses & Teaching: Resource management policy and practice; the history of environmental thought; cartography and society
Keith Culver | Associate Dean, Regional Innovation Practice; Professor; Director, UBC STAR | Faculty of Management, Survive and Thrive Applied Research (STAR) | keith.culver@ubc.ca | 250.807.9875 | EME 4153
Kent Dehnel (On Leave) | Operations Facilitator | Survive and Thrive Applied Research (STAR) | kent.dehnel@ubc.ca | 250.354.3657 | EME 1203
Tammy Durand | Animal Care Technician | Animal Care | tammy.durand@ubc.ca | 250.807.8019 (Facility Phone: 250.807.9814) | Animal Care Services, 3187 University Way, Kelowna BC
Patrick Gall | Research Network Facilitator | Survive and Thrive Applied Research (STAR) | patrick.gall@ubc.ca | EME 1203
Robert Grace | Business Development Officer | Research & Innovation Office (VPRI) | rob.grace@ubc.ca | 604.318.6808
Derek Gratz | Associate Director | University-industry Liaison Office (UILO) | derek.gratz@ubc.ca | 250.807.9853 | derek.gratz@ubc.ca
Amber Hanson | Communications Manager | Research & Innovation Office (VPRI) | amber.hanson@ubc.ca | 250.807.8035 | FIP 326
Christine Humphries (On Leave) | Manager, Strategic Initiatives and Operations | Research & Innovation Office (VPRI) | christine.humphries@ubc.ca | 250.807.8154 | FIP 325
Kristen Korberg | Associate Director | Office of Research Services (ORS) | kristen.korberg@ubc.ca | 250.807.8832 | FIP 319
Kyle Larson | Associate Professor | Earth, Environmental and Geographic Sciences, Fipke Laboratory for Trace Element Research (FiLTER) | kyle.larson@ubc.ca | 250.807.8564 | FIP 353

Graduate student supervisor


Research Interests: Structural geology; tectonics; petrology; microstructures; evolution of mountain belts; the geology of the Himalaya-Tibet-Karakorm system; tectonics of Southwestern British Columbia.
Courses & Teaching: Structural geology; regional geology/tectonics.
Denise Maines (On Leave) | Research Support Specialist | Office of Research Services (ORS) | denise.maines@ubc.ca | 250.807.8510 | FIP 304
Ryan Mandau | Technician | Survive and Thrive Applied Research (STAR) | ryan.mandau@ubc.ca | 250.575.1095 | EME 1203
Jenny Matechuk | Events & Engagement Officer | Research & Innovation Office (VPRI) | jenny.matechuk@ubc.ca | 250.807.8142 | FIP 327
Abbas Milani | Professor | Mechanical, Manufacturing, Materials and Manufacturing Research Institute (MMRI) | abbas.milani@ubc.ca | 250.807.9652 | EME4203

Graduate student supervisor


Research Interests: Textile Composites; Material Constitutive Relations; Finite Element Modelling; Robust Inverse Methods; Material Selection for End-of-Life Design Strategies; Multiple Criteria Decision Making; Design and Analysis of Computer & Physical Experiments; Surrogate Models for Process Optimization; Machine Learning and Industry 4.0
Courses & Teaching: Mathematical Methods in Modelling Engineering Materials; Multi-Objective Optimization and Decision-Making; Continuum Mechanics; Composite Materials; Engineering Vibrations
Muneeb Arshad Muhammad | Animal Care Technician | Fipke Laboratory for Trace Element Research (FiLTER) | arshad4@mail.ubc.ca | 250.807.8783 | Animal Care Services, 3187 University Way, Kelowna BC
Andrea Osachoff | Administrative Coordinator | Research & Innovation Office (VPRI) | andrea.osachoff@ubc.ca | 250.807-8602 | FIP 336
Lael Parrott | Professor | Biology, Earth, Environmental and Geographic Sciences, Okanagan Institute for Biodiversity, Resilience, and Ecosystems Services (BRAES) | lael.parrott@ubc.ca | 250.807.8122 | ASC 451
Research Interests: Understanding ecosystems and landscapes as complex systems in which human and biophysical processes are coupled across multiple scales of space and time; incorporating complexity into natural resource management approaches; regional-scale landscape modelling; social-ecological networks; agent and individual-based modelling approaches; landscape science and scenario building.
Courses & Teaching: Dynamic modelling of coupled human-environment systems.
Carolina Restrepo | Sessional Lecturer | Okanagan Institute for Biodiversity, Resilience, and Ecosystems Services (BRAES) | carolina.restrepo@ubc.ca | 250.807.9023 | SCI 361
Pierre Rondier | Institutional Programs Officer | Research & Innovation Office (VPRI) | pierre.rondier@ubc.ca | 250.807.9438 | FIP 318
Angela Sali (On Leave) | Administrative Coordinator | Research & Innovation Office (VPRI) | angela.sali@ubc.ca | 250.807.8195 | FIP 315
Camille Saltman | Managing Director, Entrepreneurship  | Entrepreneurship@UBCO | camille.saltman@ubc.ca | 250.300.5254 | Innovation UBC @ The Innovation Center, 203-460 Doyle Avenue, Kelowna BC
Lisa Shearer | Associate Manager, Behavioural Research Ethics Board | Office of Research Services (ORS) | lisa.shearer@ubc.ca | 250.807.8289 | FIP 317
Sudip Shrestha | Lab Support Coordinator | Fipke Laboratory for Trace Element Research (FiLTER) | shsudip@mail.ubc.ca | 250.807.8097 | FIP 151
Barbara Stein-Zarchikoff | Administrative and Special Projects Coordinator | Research & Innovation Office (VPRI), University-industry Liaison Office (UILO) | barbara.steinzarchikoff@ubc.ca | 250.807.8195 | FIP 323
Sarah Sutherland | Program Facilitator, Entrepreneurship | Entrepreneurship@UBCO | s.sutherland@ubc.ca | 250.869.9718 | Innovation UBC @ The Innovation Center, 203-460 Doyle Avenue, Kelowna BC
Paul van Donkelaar | Associate Vice Principal, Research | Faculty of Health and Social Development, Research & Innovation Office (VPRI) | paul.vandonkelaar@ubc.ca | 250.807.8858 | FIP 320

Graduate student supervisor


Research Interests: van Donkelaar's research focuses on gaining a better understanding of traumatic brain injury (TBI) due to sports concussion or intimate partner violence.
Brianna Wells | Research Support Specialist | Office of Research Services (ORS) | brianna.wells@ubc.ca | 250.807.8520 | FIP 318
Naomi Winckler | Technician V (Facility Supervisor Animal Care) | Animal Care | naomi.winckler@ubc.ca | 250.807.8450 (Facility Phone: 250.807.9814) | Animal Care Services, 3187 University Way, Kelowna BC
Sandra Young | Indigenous Community Liaison | Office of Research Services (ORS) | sandra.fox@ubc.ca | COM 306