Contact

Office of the Vice-Principal, Research and Innovation (VPRI)
Okanagan Campus
ADM006 – 1138 Alumni Way
Kelowna, BC Canada V1V 1V7
vpresearch.ok@ubc.ca

Office Hours
Monday to Friday
8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.

*Please note we are currently working a hybrid schedule and are on-campus on Tuesdays and Thursdays.

 


VPRI TEAM

VPRI Leadership

Dr. Philip Barker
Vice-Principal & Associate Vice-President, Research and Innovation
ADM006M
philip.barker@ubc.ca

Dr. Karis Shearer
Associate Vice-Principal, Research and Innovation, pro tem
ADM006K
karis.shearer@ubc.ca

Miranda Hart
Special Advisor to the VPRI
miranda.hart@ubc.ca

Rob Shave
Special Advisor to the VPRI
rob.shave@ubc.ca

Daniela Hetrea
Executive Assistant to the Vice-Principal, Research and Innovation
250-807-9042 | ADM006 (WK16)
daniela.hetrea@ubc.ca

 


Andrea Osachoff
Office Coordinator
250-878-8467 | ADM006J
andrea.osachoff@ubc.ca

 


Katelyn Singler
Finance Manager
ADM006J
katelyn.singler@ubc.ca

 


Annamaria Soth
Finance Clerk
250-807-8272 | ADM006 (WK13)
annamaria.soth@ubc.ca

 

 

Cory Habermehl
Communications Manager
250-807-8035 | ADM006H
cory.habermehl@ubc.ca

 


Jenny Matechuk
Knowledge Mobilization and Engagement Strategist
250-718-3009 | ADM006 (WK17)
jenny.matechuk@ubc.ca

 


Shanley Hutchinson
Communications Strategist
ADM006 (WK11)
shanley.hutchinson@ubc.ca

 


Stacy Penner (on leave)
Communications Strategist
ADM006 (WK11)
stacy.penner@ubc.ca

Sandra Spencer
Innovation Manager
Cell 780-722-6663
On campus | ADM006 (WK19)
Landmark 4 |  #604-1628 Dickson Ave
sandra.spencer@ubc.ca


Amanda Sheehan
Partnership Development Specialist
Cell 250-300-1249
On campus | ADM006
Landmark 4 |  #601-1628 Dickson Ave
amanda.sheehan@ubc.ca


Kayla Cartlidge
e@UBCO Program Manager
Cell 780-655-8454
On campus | ADM006 (WK12)
Landmark 4 |  #602-1628 Dickson Ave
kayla.cartlidge@ubc.ca


Darnel St Pierre
e@UBCO Community Coordinator
Cell 250-681-1645
On campus | ADM 006 (WK10)
Landmark 4 |  #602-1628 Dickson Ave
darnel.stpierre@ubc.ca

Research Administration and Compliance

Lisa Shearer
Manager, Research Compliance and Administration
250-807-8832 | ADM006G
lisa.shearer@ubc.ca

 


Jenna Fletcher
Grants Administrator
250-807-9412 | ADM006 (WK08)
jenna.fletcher@ubc.ca

 


Rachel Howard
Major Awards and Compliance Officer
250-807-8467 | ADM006 (WK02)
rachel.howard@ubc.ca

 


Research Development

Denise Maines
Manager, Research Development
250-807-8510 | ADM006 (WK04)
denise.maines@ubc.ca

 


Joyceline Amoako
Research Development Officer
Health
250-807-8861 | ADM006 (WK06)
joyceline.amoako@ubc.ca


Melanie Fenton
Research Support Specialist
250-807-8289 | ADM006 (WK03)
melanie.fenton@ubc.ca

 


Headshot of Hanna PaulHanna Paul
Indigenous Research Facilitator
ADM006 (WK07)
hanna.paul@ubc.ca

 


Brianna Wells
Research Development Officer
Social Sciences and Humanities
250-807-8520 | ADM006 (WK05)
brianna.wells@ubc.ca

 

Pierre Rondier
Manager, Strategic Initiatives and Operations
250-807-9438 | ADM006I
pierre.rondier@ubc.ca

 


Nicole Bennett
Internal Programs Manager
250-807-8408 | ADM006 (WK15)
nicole.bennett@ubc.ca

 


Nishat Tasnim
Institutional Programs Officer
250-807-9451 | ADM 006 (WK18)
nishat.tasnim@ubc.ca

Derek Gratz
Associate Director
250-807-9853 | ADM006D
derek.gratz@ubc.ca

 


James McCartney
Industry Project Officer
604-722-4772 | ADM006 (WK14)
James.McCartney@ubc.ca

 


Angela Perry
Administrative & Special Projects Coordinator
250-807-8604 | ADM006 (WK01)
angela.perry@ubc.ca

Natalie Rodriguez
Director, Interdisciplinarity and Operations x̌əl sic snpax̌nwixʷtn
natalie.rodriguez@ubc.ca

VPRI Directory

Role:
Unit/Departments:
Search Keyword:

Joyceline Amoako, PhD | Health Research Development Officer | Office of Research Services (ORS), Office of the Vice-Principal, Research and Innovation | joyceline.amoako@ubc.ca | 250.807.8861 | ADM006 (WK06)
Phil Barker | Vice-Principal, Research | Biochemistry and Molecular Biology, Office of the Vice-Principal, Research and Innovation, Research & Innovation Office (VPRI) | philip.barker@ubc.ca | 250.807.9582 | ADM006M

Graduate student supervisor


Research Interests: Neurodegenerative disease, signal transduction, neurotrophin biology, cell biology, fly and mouse genetics.
Jacquetta Benard | Administrative Assistant | Institute for Healthy Living and Chronic Disease Prevention (IHLCDP ) | jacquetta.benard@ubc.ca | 250.807.8072 | ART 223
Nicole Bennett | Internal Programs Manager | Office of the Vice-Principal, Research and Innovation | nicole.bennett@ubc.ca | 250-807-8408 | ADM006 (WK15)
Mark Button | Lab Manager | Research Scientist | Fipke Laboratory for Trace Element Research (FiLTER) | mark.button@ubc.ca | 250.807.8645 | FIP 147
Jolene Campbell | Administrative Assistant | Materials and Manufacturing Research Institute (MMRI) | jolene.campbell@ubc.ca | 250.807.8085 | EME 2131
Joanne Carey | Research Administrator | Institute for Community Engaged Research (ICER) | joanne.carey@ubc.ca | 250.807.9667 | Arts 223A
Kayla Cartlidge | e@UBCO Program Manager | Entrepreneurship@UBCO, Office of the Vice-Principal, Research and Innovation | kayla.cartlidge@ubc.ca | 780-655-8454 | ADM006(WK12)
Jon Corbett | Professor | Geography, Institute for Community Engaged Research (ICER) | jon.corbett@ubc.ca | 250.807.9348 | ART 368B
Research Interests: Geography; ethnobiology; cartography; exploration, facilitation and promotion of community and ecosystem-based models of land and resource use in communities in Australia, Indonesia, the Philippines and British Columbia, Canada
Courses & Teaching: Resource management policy and practice; the history of environmental thought; cartography and society
Keith Culver | Senior Associate Dean; Professor; Director, UBC STAR | Faculty of Management, Survive and Thrive Applied Research (STAR) | keith.culver@ubc.ca | 250.807.9875 | EME 4153
Tammy Durand | Animal Care Technician | Animal Care | tammy.durand@ubc.ca | 250.807.8019 (Facility Phone: 250.807.9814) | Animal Care Services, 3187 University Way, Kelowna BC
Melanie Fenton | Research Support Specialist | Office of Research Services (ORS), Office of the Vice-Principal, Research and Innovation | melanie.fenton@ubc.ca | 250.807.8289 | ADM006 (WK03)
Jenna Fletcher | Grants Administrator | Office of Research Services (ORS), Office of the Vice-Principal, Research and Innovation | jenna.fletcher@ubc.ca
Adam Ford | Associate Professor | Okanagan Institute for Biodiversity, Resilience, and Ecosystems Services (BRAES) | adam.ford@ubc.ca | 250.807.9773 | SCI 109

Graduate student supervisor


Research Interests: Wildlife ecology and conservation; mammals; temperate forests, grasslands, and tropical savannas.
Courses & Teaching: Animal ecology
Patrick Gall | Research Network Facilitator | Survive and Thrive Applied Research (STAR) | patrick.gall@ubc.ca | EME 1203
Derek Gratz | Associate Director | University-industry Liaison Office (UILO) | derek.gratz@ubc.ca | 250.807.9853 | ADM006D
Cory Habermehl | Communications Manager | Office of the Vice-Principal, Research and Innovation | cory.habermehl@ubc.ca | ADM006H
Miranda Hart | Professor | Biology | miranda.hart@ubc.ca | ASC 372

Graduate student supervisor


Research Interests: Microbial ecology of soil microbes; the role and the applications of microbes in sustainable agriculture, viticulture, and ecological restoration.
Courses & Teaching: Botany; ecology; microbial ecology; microbiology.
Daniela Hetrea | Executive Assistant to Vice-Principal and Associate Vice-President, Research and Innovation | Office of the Vice-Principal, Research and Innovation | daniela.hetrea@ubc.ca | 250.807.9042 | ADM006 (WK16)
Rachelle Hole | Professor | Canadian Institute for Inclusion and Citizenship (CIIC), Faculty of Health and Social Development, Social Work | rachelle.hole@ubc.ca | 250-807-8741 | ARTS 368

Graduate student supervisor


Research Interests: Rachelle’s research programme is informed by two complementary streams: 1) a substantial focus on the socio-cultural practices that promote social inclusion and equity, and 2) a methodological focus on community based participatory research methods. Critical disability studies is central to the first stream informing Rachelle’s research in the area of community living and intellectual disability.
Rachel Howard | Major Awards and Compliance Officer | Office of Research Services (ORS) | rachel.howard@ubc.ca | 250.807.9412 | ADM006WK001
Shanley Hutchinson | Communications Strategist | Office of the Vice-Principal, Research and Innovation | shanley.hutchinson@ubc.ca | ADM 006 (WK11)
Jennifer Jakobi | Professor (Tenure) | Office of the Vice-Principal, Research and Innovation, School of Health and Exercise Sciences | jennifer.jakobi@ubc.ca | 250.807.9884

Graduate student supervisor


Research Interests: The long term objective of Jakobi's research program is to develop prehabilitation programs that focus on maintaining functional independence in older adults.
Kyle Larson | Department Head, Professor | Earth, Environmental and Geographic Sciences, Fipke Laboratory for Trace Element Research (FiLTER) | kyle.larson@ubc.ca | 250.807.8564 | SCI 398

Graduate student supervisor


Research Interests: Structural geology; tectonics; petrology; microstructures; geochronology; the geology of the Himalaya-Tibet-Karakorm system; tectonics of Southwestern British Columbia.
Courses & Teaching: Structural geology; regional geology/tectonics.
Denise Maines | Manager, Research Development | Office of Research Services (ORS), Office of the Vice-Principal, Research and Innovation | denise.maines@ubc.ca | 250.807.8510 | ADM006 (WK003)
Ryan Mandau | Technician | Survive and Thrive Applied Research (STAR) | ryan.mandau@ubc.ca | 250.575.1095 | EME 1203
Jenny Matechuk | Knowledge Mobilization and Engagement Strategist | Office of the Vice-Principal, Research and Innovation | jenny.matechuk@ubc.ca | 250.807.8142 | ADM006 (WK17)
James McCartney | Industry Project Officer | Office of the Vice-Principal, Research and Innovation, University-industry Liaison Office (UILO) | james.mccartney@ubc.ca | ADM006 (WK14)
Abbas Milani | Professor | Mechanical, School of Engineering | abbas.milani@ubc.ca | 250.807.9652 | EME4203

Graduate student supervisor. Only considering applications with exceptional academic record.


Research Interests: Textile Composites/Biocomposites; Materials Constitutive Relations; Finite Element Modelling; Robust Inverse Methods; Material Selection for End-of-Life Design Strategies; Multiple Criteria Decision Making; Design and Analysis of Computer & Physical Experiments; Surrogate Models for Process Optimization; Industry 5.0
Courses & Teaching: Mathematical Methods in Modelling Engineering Materials; Multi-Objective Optimization and Decision-Making; Continuum Mechanics; Composite Materials; Engineering Vibrations
Samantha Olivier | Plant Growth Facility Manager | Office of the Vice-Principal, Research and Innovation | samantha.olivier@ubc.ca
Andrea Osachoff | Administrative Coordinator | Office of the Vice-Principal, Research and Innovation, Research & Innovation Office (VPRI) | andrea.osachoff@ubc.ca | 250.807-8602 | ADM006J
Hanna Paul, MA | Indigenous Research Facilitator | Office of Research Services (ORS), Office of the Vice-Principal, Research and Innovation | hanna.paul@ubc.ca | ADM006 (WK07)
Stacy Penner | Communications Strategist (on leave) | Office of the Vice-Principal, Research and Innovation | stacy.penner@ubc.ca | ADM006 (WK11)
Angela Perry | Administrative & Special Projects Coordinator
Natalie Rodriguez | Director, Interdisciplinarity and Operations x̌əl sic snpax̌nwixʷtn | Office of the Vice-Principal, Research and Innovation | natalie.rodriguez@ubc.ca | 250.317.7263 | 006WK19
Pierre Rondier | Manager, Strategic Initiatives and Operations | Office of the Vice-Principal, Research and Innovation | pierre.rondier@ubc.ca | 250.807.9438 | ADM006I
Lisa Shearer | Manager, Research Compliance and Administration | Office of Research Services (ORS), Office of the Vice-Principal, Research and Innovation | lisa.shearer@ubc.ca | 250.807.8832 | ADM006G
Karis Shearer, PhD | Associate Professor | English, English and Cultural Studies, Office of the Vice-Principal, Research and Innovation | karis.shearer@ubc.ca | 250.807.9776 | CCS 162

Graduate student supervisor


Research Interests: Modern and contemporary Canadian and American poetry; literary audio; literary archives; media studies; feminist theory; sound studies; oral history; digital humanities; editing and publishing; history of higher education, particularly the development of Creative Writing as an academic discipline in Canadian universities.
Courses & Teaching: English; Digital Arts & Humanities
Amanda Sheehan | Partnership Development Specialist | Office of the Vice-Principal, Research and Innovation | amanda.sheehan@ubc.ca | 250.300.1249 | ADM006 | Landmark 4 #601-1628 Dickson Ave
Sudip Shrestha | Lab Manager | Research Scientist | Fipke Laboratory for Trace Element Research (FiLTER), Office of the Vice-Principal, Research and Innovation, Research & Innovation Office (VPRI) | sudip.shrestha@ubc.ca | 250.807.8097 | FIP 151
Katelyn Singler | Finance Manager | Office of the Vice-Principal, Research and Innovation | katelyn.singler@ubc.ca | ADM006J
Annamaria Soth | Finance Clerk | Office of the Vice-Principal, Research and Innovation | annamaria.soth@ubc.ca | ADM006 (WK10)
Sandra Spencer | Innovation Manager | Office of the Vice-Principal, Research and Innovation | sandra.spencer@ubc.ca | 780.722.6663 | ADM006(WK19)
Darnel St.Pierre | Community Coordinator, e@UBCO | Entrepreneurship@UBCO, Office of the Vice-Principal, Research and Innovation | darnel.stpierre@ubc.ca | ADM006 (WK10)
Nishat Tasnim | Institutional Programs Officer | Office of the Vice-Principal, Research and Innovation | nishat.tasnim@ubc.ca | 250.807.9451 | ADM 006 (WK18)
Paul van Donkelaar, PhD (On Leave) | Professor | Faculty of Health and Social Development, School of Health and Exercise Sciences | paul.vandonkelaar@ubc.ca | 250.863.3230 | ADM006K

Graduate student supervisor


Research Interests: Dr. van Donkelaar's research focuses on gaining a better understanding of traumatic brain injury (TBI) due to sports concussion or intimate partner violence. Dr. van Donkelaar is currently not accepting any new graduate students.
Tanja Voegel, Dr. rer. nat. | BRAES Coordinator | Office of the Vice-Principal, Research and Innovation, Okanagan Institute for Biodiversity, Resilience, and Ecosystems Services (BRAES) | tanja.voegel@ubc.ca | SCI 377
Brianna Wells | Research Development Officer | Office of Research Services (ORS), Office of the Vice-Principal, Research and Innovation | brianna.wells@ubc.ca | 250.807.8520 | ADM006 (WK005)
Naomi Winckler | Technician V (Facility Supervisor Animal Care) | Animal Care | naomi.winckler@ubc.ca | 250.807.8450 (Facility Phone: 250.807.9814) | Animal Care Services, 3187 University Way, Kelowna BC