Contact

Office of the Vice-Principal, Research and Innovation (VPRI)
Okanagan Campus
ADM006 – 1138 Alumni Way
Kelowna, BC Canada V1V 1V7
vpresearch.ok@ubc.ca

Office Hours
Monday to Friday
8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.

*Please note we are currently working remotely. The best way to reach us is via email or via MS Teams.

 


VPRI TEAM

Dr. Philip Barker
Vice-Principal & Associate Vice-President, Research and Innovation
ADM006M
philip.barker@ubc.ca

Daniela Hetrea
Executive Assistant to the Vice-Principal, Research and Innovation
250-807-9042 | ADM006 (WK15)
daniela.hetrea@ubc.ca

 

Dr. Paul van Donkelaar
Associate Vice-Principal, Research
250-807-8858 | ADM006K
paul.vandonkelaar@ubc.ca

office of the vice-principal, research and innovation


Amber Hanson
Communications Manager
250-807-8035 | ADM006H
amber.hanson@ubc.ca

 

Christine Humphries
Sr. Manager, Strategic Initiatives & Operations
250-807-8154 | ADM006I
christine.humphries@ubc.ca

 

Gerald Levac
Finance Manager
250-807-9034 | ADM006J
gerald.levac@ubc.ca

Jenny Matechuk
Events & Engagement Officer
250-807-8142 | ADM006 (WK16)
jenny.matechuk@ubc.ca

 

Pierre Rondier
Institutional Programs Officer (CFI/BCKDF)
250-807-9438 | ADM006 (WK17)
pierre.rondier@ubc.ca

 

Andrea Osachoff
Administrative Coordinator
250-807-8602 | ADM006J
andrea.osachoff@ubc.ca

University-Industry Liaison Office (UILO)


Derek Gratz
Associate Director
250-807-9853 | ADM006D
derek.gratz@ubc.ca

Barbara Stein-Zarchikoff
Administrative & Special Projects Coordinator
250-807-8195 | ADM006Z
barbara.steinzarchikoff@ubc.ca

Partnership Development


Janice Larson
Interior University Research Coalition (IURC)
250-807-8025 | ADM006 (WK11)
janice.larson@ubc.ca

Candice Loring
Director, Business Development Indigenous Community Engagement (Mitacs)
Cell 778-392-8581 | ADM006 (WK08)
cloring@mitacs.ca

Entrepreneurship@UBCO


Colin Gervais
Program Facilitator
Cell 778-392-7045
On campus | ADM006 (WK10)
Innovation UBC Hub | #203-460 Doyle Ave
colin.gervais@ubc.ca

Sarah Sutherland (on maternity leave)
Program Facilitator
Cell 250-869-9718
Innovation UBC Hub | #203-460 Doyle Ave
s.sutherland@ubc.ca

Office of Research Services (ORS)


Kristen Korberg
Associate Director
250-807-8832 | ADM006G
kristen.korberg@ubc.ca

 

Lisa Shearer
Associate Manager
Behavioural Research Ethics
250-807-8289 | ADM006 (WK02)
lisa.shearer@ubc.ca

 

Rachel Howard
Awards Coordinator
250-807-9412 | ADM006 (WK01)
rachel.howard@ubc.ca

 

Sandra Fox
Indigenous Community Liaison
250-807-8187 | ADM006 (WK04)
sandra.fox@ubc.ca

Denise Maines
Research Development Officer
Natural Sciences and Engineering
250-807-8510 | ADM006 (WK03)
denise.maines@ubc.ca

 

Brianna Wells
Research Development Officer
Social Sciences and Humanities
250-807-8520 | ADM006 (WK06)
brianna.wells@ubc.ca

 

Stacey Leavitt
Research Development Officer (Health)
250-807-8861 | ADM006 (WK05)
stacey.leavitt@ubc.ca

survive and thrive applied research (star) initiative


Dr. Keith Culver
Director
250-807-9875 | EME 4153
keith.culver@ubc.ca

 

Nigel Whittaker
Operations Facilitator
Cell 250-317-1094 | EME 1203
nigel.whittaker@ubc.ca

 

Patrick Gall
Research Network Facilitator
Cell 403-478-6066 | EME 2131
patrick.gall@ubc.ca

 

Ryan Mandau
Laboratory Technician V
Cell 250-575-1095 | EME 2131
ryan.mandau@ubc.ca

VPRI Directory

Role:
Unit/Departments:
Search Keyword:

Phil Barker | Vice-Principal, Research | Biochemistry and Molecular Biology, Office of the Vice-Principal, Research and Innovation, Research & Innovation Office (VPRI) | philip.barker@ubc.ca | 250.807.9582 | ADM006M

Graduate student supervisor


Research Interests: Neurodegenerative disease, signal transduction, neurotrophin biology, cell biology, fly and mouse genetics.
Jacquetta Benard | Administrative Assistant | Institute for Healthy Living and Chronic Disease Prevention (IHLCDP ) | jacquetta.benard@ubc.ca | 250.807.8072 | ART 223
Joan L. Bottorff | Professor | Institute for Healthy Living and Chronic Disease Prevention (IHLCDP), School of Nursing | joan.bottorff@ubc.ca | 250.807.8627 | Arts 223A

Graduate student supervisor


Research Interests: Health promotion, health behaviour change, gender influences, cancer prevention, smoking cessation, men's health, family health, knowledge translation
Courses & Teaching: Qualitative research, research methods, nursing theory
Mark Button | Technician V (FiLTER ICP-MS Technician) | Fipke Laboratory for Trace Element Research (FiLTER) | mark.button@ubc.ca | 250.807.8645 | FIP 147
Jolene Campbell | Administrative Assistant | Materials and Manufacturing Research Institute (MMRI) | jolene.campbell@ubc.ca | 250.807.8085 | EME 2131
Joanne Carey | Research Administrator | Institute for Community Engaged Research (ICER) | joanne.carey@ubc.ca | 250.807.9667 | Arts 223A
Jon Corbett | Associate Professor | Geography, Institute for Community Engaged Research (ICER) | jon.corbett@ubc.ca | 250.807.9348 | ART 368B
Research Interests: Geography; ethnobiology; cartography; exploration, facilitation and promotion of community and ecosystem-based models of land and resource use in communities in Australia, Indonesia, the Philippines and British Columbia, Canada
Courses & Teaching: Resource management policy and practice; the history of environmental thought; cartography and society
Keith Culver | Associate Dean, Regional Innovation Practice; Professor; Director, UBC STAR | Faculty of Management, Survive and Thrive Applied Research (STAR) | keith.culver@ubc.ca | 250.807.9875 | EME 4153
Tammy Durand | Animal Care Technician | Animal Care | tammy.durand@ubc.ca | 250.807.8019 (Facility Phone: 250.807.9814) | Animal Care Services, 3187 University Way, Kelowna BC
Sandra Fox | Indigenous Community Liaison | Office of Research Services (ORS) | sandra.fox@ubc.ca | ADM006 (WK006)
Patrick Gall | Research Network Facilitator | Survive and Thrive Applied Research (STAR) | patrick.gall@ubc.ca | EME 1203
Colin Gervais | Program Facilitator | Entrepreneurship@UBCO | colin.gervais@ubc.ca | 778-392-7045 | #203-460 Doyle Avenue | Kelowna BC | V1Y 0C2
Derek Gratz | Associate Director | University-industry Liaison Office (UILO) | derek.gratz@ubc.ca | 250.807.9853 | ADM006D
Amber Hanson | Communications Manager | Office of the Vice-Principal, Research and Innovation, Research & Innovation Office (VPRI) | amber.hanson@ubc.ca | 250.807.8035 | ADM006H
Rachelle Hole | Associate Professor | Canadian Institute for Inclusion and Citizenship (CIIC), Faculty of Health and Social Development, Social Work | rachelle.hole@ubc.ca | 250-807-8741 | ARTS 368

Graduate student supervisor


Research Interests: Rachelle’s research programme is informed by two complementary streams: 1) a substantial focus on the socio-cultural practices that promote social inclusion and equity, and 2) a methodological focus on community based participatory research methods. Critical disability studies is central to the first stream informing Rachelle’s research in the area of community living and intellectual disability.
Rachel Howard | Awards Coordinator | Office of Research Services (ORS) | rachel.howard@ubc.ca | 250.807.9412 | ADM006WK001
Christine Humphries | Senior Manager, Strategic Initiatives and Operations | Office of the Vice-Principal, Research and Innovation, Research & Innovation Office (VPRI) | christine.humphries@ubc.ca | 250.807.8154 | ADM006I
Kristen Korberg | Associate Director | Office of Research Services (ORS) | kristen.korberg@ubc.ca | 250.807.8832 | ADM006G
Kyle Larson | Professor | Earth, Environmental and Geographic Sciences, Fipke Laboratory for Trace Element Research (FiLTER) | kyle.larson@ubc.ca | 250.807.8564 | FIP 353

Graduate student supervisor


Research Interests: Structural geology; tectonics; petrology; microstructures; evolution of mountain belts; the geology of the Himalaya-Tibet-Karakorm system; tectonics of Southwestern British Columbia.
Courses & Teaching: Structural geology; regional geology/tectonics.
Stacey Leavitt | Research Development Officer | Office of Research Services (ORS) | stacey.leavitt@ubc.ca | ADM006WK005
Denise Maines | Research Development Officer | Office of Research Services (ORS) | denise.maines@ubc.ca | 250.807.8510 | ADM006 (WK003)
Ryan Mandau | Technician | Survive and Thrive Applied Research (STAR) | ryan.mandau@ubc.ca | 250.575.1095 | EME 1203
Jenny Matechuk | Events & Engagement Officer | Office of the Vice-Principal, Research and Innovation, Research & Innovation Office (VPRI) | jenny.matechuk@ubc.ca | 250.807.8142 | ADM006 (WK16)
Abbas Milani | Professor | Manufacturing, Materials and Manufacturing Research Institute (MMRI), Mechanical | abbas.milani@ubc.ca | 250.807.9652 | EME4203

Graduate student supervisor


Research Interests: Textile Composites; Material Constitutive Relations; Finite Element Modelling; Robust Inverse Methods; Material Selection for End-of-Life Design Strategies; Multiple Criteria Decision Making; Design and Analysis of Computer & Physical Experiments; Surrogate Models for Process Optimization; Machine Learning and Industry 4.0
Courses & Teaching: Mathematical Methods in Modelling Engineering Materials; Multi-Objective Optimization and Decision-Making; Continuum Mechanics; Composite Materials; Engineering Vibrations
Muneeb Arshad Muhammad | Animal Care Technician | Animal Care, Research & Innovation Office (VPRI) | arshad4@mail.ubc.ca | 250.807.8783 | Animal Care Services, 3187 University Way, Kelowna BC
Samantha Olivier | Plant Growth Facility Manager | Office of the Vice-Principal, Research and Innovation, Research & Innovation Office (VPRI) | samantha.olivier@ubc.ca
Andrea Osachoff | Administrative Coordinator | Office of the Vice-Principal, Research and Innovation, Research & Innovation Office (VPRI) | andrea.osachoff@ubc.ca | 250.807-8602 | ADM006J
Lael Parrott | Professor | Biology, Earth, Environmental and Geographic Sciences, Okanagan Institute for Biodiversity, Resilience, and Ecosystems Services (BRAES) | lael.parrott@ubc.ca | 250.807.8122 | ASC 451
Research Interests: Understanding ecosystems and landscapes as complex systems in which human and biophysical processes are coupled across multiple scales of space and time; incorporating complexity into natural resource management approaches; regional-scale landscape modelling; social-ecological networks; agent and individual-based modelling approaches; landscape science and scenario building.
Courses & Teaching: Dynamic modelling of coupled human-environment systems.
Carolina Restrepo | Sessional Lecturer | Okanagan Institute for Biodiversity, Resilience, and Ecosystems Services (BRAES) | carolina.restrepo@ubc.ca | 250.807.9023 | SCI 361
Pierre Rondier | Institutional Programs Officer | Office of the Vice-Principal, Research and Innovation, Research & Innovation Office (VPRI) | pierre.rondier@ubc.ca | 250.807.9438 | ADM006 (WK17)
Angela Sali (On Leave) | Administrative Coordinator | Research & Innovation Office (VPRI) | angela.sali@ubc.ca | 250.807.8195 | ADM006 (WK18)
Lisa Shearer | Associate Manager, Behavioural Research Ethics Board | Office of Research Services (ORS) | lisa.shearer@ubc.ca | 250.807.8289 | ADM006 (WK02)
Sudip Shrestha | Lab Support Coordinator | Fipke Laboratory for Trace Element Research (FiLTER) | shsudip@mail.ubc.ca | 250.807.8097 | FIP 151
Barbara Stein-Zarchikoff | Administrative and Special Projects Coordinator | Office of the Vice-Principal, Research and Innovation, Research & Innovation Office (VPRI), University-industry Liaison Office (UILO) | barbara.steinzarchikoff@ubc.ca | 250.807.8195 | ADM006Z
Sarah Sutherland (On Leave) | Program Facilitator | Entrepreneurship@UBCO | s.sutherland@ubc.ca | 250.869.9718 | The Innovation Center, 203-460 Doyle Avenue, Kelowna BC
Paul van Donkelaar | Professor | Office of the Vice-Principal, Research and Innovation, School of Health and Exercise Sciences | paul.vandonkelaar@ubc.ca | 250.863.3230 | ADM006K

Graduate student supervisor


Research Interests: van Donkelaar's research focuses on gaining a better understanding of traumatic brain injury (TBI) due to sports concussion or intimate partner violence.
Brianna Wells | Research Development Officer | Office of Research Services (ORS) | brianna.wells@ubc.ca | 250.807.8520 | ADM006 (WK004)
Naomi Winckler | Technician V (Facility Supervisor Animal Care) | Animal Care | naomi.winckler@ubc.ca | 250.807.8450 (Facility Phone: 250.807.9814) | Animal Care Services, 3187 University Way, Kelowna BC